2015-2016 NZTYA Championships

2015-2016 NZTYA Championships

Despite valiant attempts to have the NZTYA Championships decided over 4 races on the Saturday of Labour Weekend, prior to the Aviemore Classic on the Sunday, the fickle winds proved to be the winner, with only 3 races being held.

Around 35 yachts competed in the Championships, which doubled as the 2015-2016 NZTYA South Island Championships.

The morning start to Race one was delayed while the RO waited for the breeze to settle however a start in light conditions was achieved but quickly followed by a challenging leg to the first mark as the breeze became a zephyr, proving the old adage that not all wind is good wind.

A forced delay, awaiting a settled breeze, meant that races 2 & 3 were delayed until the afternoon but time did not permit the scheduled 4th race.

The Championships were therefore decided over the 3 races sailed, with all results to count.  

NZTYA wishes to extend its thanks to Timaru Yacht & Power Boat Club for hosting this year's event.

The full results are available on the website but highlights are:

A Division

1st  Red Hot Pawn  Thompson 750

2nd Springloaded  Dibley 8

3rd Overspray  Elliot 7.8

B Division

1st Jaffa  N22

2nd Charade  N22

3rd Desinfinado  N22

C Division

1st HotCAir  Farr6000

2nd Kostalott  Farr6000

3rd Venture Farr  Farr6000

Champs_Results_NZTYA_2015.pdf (Size: 9.59 KB)

Posted: Tue 03 Nov 2015